Cancel your Shared hosting only plan

The following instructions are only if you have a Shared hosting plan and no other plans such as  a VPS, Dedicated, or DreamPress plan.

This article assumes that since you're canceling your only hosting plan, you no longer wish to have your website hosted at DreamHost, but wish to keep the account open for your domain registration.

Viewing your hosting plan type

You can view all services billed to your account on the (Panel > 'Billing & Account' > 'Manage Account') page. Here you'll see a list of all services you currently use.

Remove or migrate Shared users

If any users still exist on your Shared server, you will not be able to cancel the plan. You must  delete those users from the Shared server in order to cancel the plan.

Deleting users if you no longer need them

Make sure you backup any important files under the Shared user you wish to keep. View the following articles for information on how to backup your user data:

Once your data has been backed up, navigate to the (Panel > 'Users' > 'Manage Users') page. To the right of any user (under the 'Machine' column) you'll see the name of the server. For example, 'flower', 'gervais', 'tool' etc.

If it has a name, it is a Shared server.

Click the Delete button to the right of the user to permanently delete it.

Canceling the Shared plan

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Billing & Account’ > ‘Manage Account’) page.
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown.png
  2. Locate your Shared hosting plan. It most likely is named 'Happy Hosting'. To the right, click the 'Edit' link under the 'Ends' column. Three options appear:
    • Auto-Renews
    • End Today
    • End After This Billing Period
    After you select when you'd like your hosting plan to end, the following confirmation appears (depending on what other services you have purchased):
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown.png
  3. Click Ok to proceed.
    If you did not remove your existing shared users from the shared server, the following message appears:
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown3.png
    • Make sure to remove them first. You can then proceed with canceling the hosting plan.

At this point, your users have been deleted and your Shared hosting plan closed. If your domain is registered with DreamHost, you can still manage its DNS settings in the panel.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .