Do not use these instructions unless explicitly instructed to by the DreamHost Professional Services Team. The following information is only to be used in a particular phase of a WP migration being done for you by that team; otherwise, the steps will be out of context and can lead to errors if implemented.
Now that the migration is complete, it's time for you to approve it. First, a word of caution:
Please note that the Professional Services Team needs to hear back from you within 7 business days, or the migration will be considered implicitly approved by you.
Below are instructions on how to view the migrated site. Once the Professional Services Team is informed that you approve of the migration, specific instructions will be sent notifying you of how to make your site (at DreamHost) the public one for your domain, and how to handle email and HTTPS/SSL issues, if any.
What if you point your DNS to DreamHost before approving the migration?
If you pointed your site's DNS to DreamHost before approving the migration, the Professional Services Team will consider the migration implicitly approved by you. This means that any subsequent support for the site would come from DreamHost's Technical Support team and no longer from the Professional Services Team.
In other words, the migration would be considered closed.
As a DreamPress user you receive the benefit of advanced caching, however you may see some unexpected behavior in how your site displays updated content. Part of the remarkable speed DreamPress can provide is due to the way it caches content using Varnish. If you happen to be making changes and see a lag between the time you save a change and the time it appears, you might want to clear your Varnish cache at the top of the WP Admin dashboard.
Viewing your migrated before making it public
You can view your migrated site (before it is public) by editing the 'hosts' file on your home computer. This allows you to view the site as it appears on DreamHost's servers without changing your DNS to point to DreamHost.
This has zero effect on your live (public) site at the current hosting company. When you update your computer's 'hosts' file, only you are able to see how your site appears at DreamHost. Everyone else continues to see your current live site at your current hosting company.
View the following article for instructions on how to edit your computer's 'hosts' file. Once edited, only the computer you're working on will be able to see your migrated (non-public) site. Any other computer will continue to see your public site.