Closing your Shared hosting only account

Overview

DreamHost provides a simple three-step process in the panel to entirely close an account when only a Shared hosting plan is active. If your DreamHost account has VPS services and/or Dedicated services without a Shared hosting plan, refer instead to the links in the 'See also' section below.

If needed, you can still retain the option to keep your domain registration(s) accessible at DreamHost.

Viewing your hosting plan(s) and services

You can view all of your hosting plans(s) and other services on the Manage Account page.

Closing your Shared hosting account

  1. Navigate to the Manage Account page.
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_01.fw.png
  2. In the top 'Overview' section, click the red Close Account button.
    Step one: Review balance summary

    If you have a balance, you must make a payment for the amount that is due now. You won't be able to proceed to the next step until your account is settled.

    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_02.fw.png
  3. If a balance appears, use a payment method at the bottom to make a payment. When finished, click the Proceed to Next Step button.
    Step two: Review product summary
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_03.fw.png
  4. Review your services and then select which ones you wish to keep (such as domain registrations or any cloud services). When finished, click the Proceed to Next Step button.
    Step three: Finalize account closure
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_04.fw.png
  5. On the final page, fill out the exit survey, confirm it, and then click the red Close Account Now button to close your account. After you close the account, a confirmation email is sent to the email address on file.

What happens to my Domain Registration(s) when I close my account?

DreamHost will not delete your domain registrations when you close your account. Any domain registrations previously purchased continue to remain active for the rest of their registration periods. When you close your account, DreamHost gives you the option to keep your panel open so you can continue to manage your Domain Registrations.

Can I re-enable my account after I close it?

Yes. If you ever wish to come back, you can use the steps described in the following article to re-enable your account:

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.