Closing your VPS or Dedicated only plan

Viewing your hosting plan type

You can view all services billed to your account on the Manage Account page. Here you'll see a list of all services you currently use.

Closing your VPS hosting plan

If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared or Dedicated hosting plan. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you are closing the VPS hosting plan.

If there is no other hosting service in place, the website will go down and your account will only be available for domain registrations.

Make sure to have another hosting plan active if you wish to keep your site up and running.

View the following article for full instructions:

Closing your Dedicated hosting plan

If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared or VPS hosting plan active. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you are closing the Dedicated hosting plan.

If there is no other hosting service in place, the website will go down and your account will only be available for domain registrations.

Make sure to have another hosting plan active if you wish to keep your site up and running.

View the following article for full instructions:

What happens to my Domain Registration(s) when I close my account?

DreamHost will not delete your domain registrations when you close your account. Any domain registrations previously purchased continue to remain active for the rest of their registration periods. When you close your account, DreamHost gives you the option to keep your panel open so you can continue to manage your Domain Registrations.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.