Cancel your VPS or Dedicated only account

Viewing your hosting plan type

You can view all services billed to your account on the (Panel > 'Billing & Account' > 'Manage Account') page. Here you'll see a list of all services you currently use.

Closing your VPS hosting account

If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared or Dedicated hosting plan. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you are canceling.

If there is no other hosting service in place, the website will go down and your account will only be available for domain registrations.

Make sure to have another hosting plan active if you wish to keep your site up and running.

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘VPS’ > ‘Dashboard’) page.
    04 Canceling Account VPS.fw.png
  2. To the right of the VPS under the ‘Actions’ column, click the red Delete button.

When finished, DreamHost sends the account owner an email to confirm the VPS has been deleted.

Closing your Dedicated hosting account

If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared or VPS hosting plan active. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you are canceling.

If there is no other hosting service in place, the website will go down and your account will only be available for domain registrations.

Make sure to have another hosting plan active if you wish to keep your site up and running.

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Dedicated Servers’ > ‘Dashboard’) page.
    05 Canceling Account Dedicated.fw.png
  2. To the right of the server under the ‘Actions’ column, click the red Delete button.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .