How do I move users and domains to my private server?

If you did not select the option to move your sites and users to the VPS when ordering, you can still move them at a later time.

Make sure your new VPS has enough room to migrate your user's contents. When you purchase a new VPS, it can store from 30GB - 240GB. Check your (Panel > 'Billing & Account' > 'Disk Usage') page to confirm your users will fit on the new server.

Migrating your sites and users

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘VPS’ > ‘Dashboard’) page.
    06 VPS Migrate User Link.fw.png
  2. Above the Add VPS button, click the link titled ‘Click here’ to move all users and domains.
    07 VPS Move shared domains.fw.png
  3. Select the desired VPS from the dropdown menu.
  4. Click the Move all shared users and domains button.

Your users and domains are then migrated over to your chosen VPS. 

Make sure the VPS has enough space to migrate all of your users and domains. If there is insufficient space on the VPS, the migration fails and you may not be able to log in to the private server. You can check how much space you need by looking at the "Disk Used" column of the 'Manage Users' page.

Moving specific domains from Shared to VPS

It's not possible to move a 'user' and all of the user's contents to the VPS. You can only move a single domain at a time under that user.

Please visit the following article for information on moving domains from shared servers to a VPS:

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .