DreamObjects Buckets

A Bucket is a mechanism for grouping objects in DreamObjects, similar to a folder. Unlike a folder, Buckets exist in a global namespace inside DreamObjects, which means that bucket names must be unique, just like a domain name, since they are used to create public URLs to store objects.

Creating a Bucket

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Could Services’ > ‘DreamObjects’) page in your DreamHost panel.

  2. Click the ‘Manage’ tab at the top.

    The DreamObjects page opens with a list of users displayed:

    ../../_images/12_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  3. Under your username, click the Add Bucket button.

    The ‘bucket_name’ field box appears:

    ../../_images/13_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  4. Enter a name for your bucket in the Bucket Name field box.

  5. Click the Add Bucket button.

Bucket names must include at least 3 characters and can only contain lowercase characters (a–z), numbers (0–9), hyphens (-), and dots (only a single dot at a time, and cannot end in a dot). Though certain symbols such as dashes or dots are valid, they will break DNS on your bucket name (reducing the bucket’s functionality) and are not recommended.

Setting bucket permissions

You can set your new bucket to have public or private permissions. To select a permission setting, you must edit the bucket:

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Could Services’ > ‘DreamObjects’) page in your DreamHost panel.

    ../../_images/01_DreamSpeed_CDN.fw.png
  2. Click the ‘Change Settings’ link to the right of your bucket.

    A pop-up box displays:

    ../../_images/02_DreamObjects_CNAME.png
  3. Select a permissions setting for the contents of your bucket by clicking the 'Permissions' toggle button.

    • Choose either Private or Public.
    • You can change the permission setting at anytime after creating the bucket.

Public means that it is possible to view the Bucket properties and a list of the contents of the bucket by navigating to the Bucket URL. Although you will be able to see that an object is listed as part of the contents of a Bucket, the actual Object cannot be read unless it has also been marked Public.

Object permissions default to private. If you need to update all object permissions in a bucket, use the following Python script:

Editing a Bucket

Options for editing a Bucket are limited, but you can:

  • Modify the permission settings on an existing Bucket at any time.
  • Add or remove contents from a Bucket.

It is not possible to change a bucket name or transfer the bucket to another user.

Deleting a Bucket

It is not possible to delete a bucket that contains any objects. Additionally, the bucket deletion operation is non-reversible. MAKE SURE sure you have backed up all data in the bucket before deleting it. You can use this Python script to delete all bucket contents.

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Cloud Services’ > ‘DreamObjects’) page in your DreamHost panel.

  2. Click the ‘Manage’ tab.

  3. Click your username.

    The page expands and displays your Keypairs and Buckets:

    ../../_images/17_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  4. To the right of your bucket, click the Remove Bucket button.

    A confirmation dialog box appears:

    ../../_images/18_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  5. Click the Remove button to delete the bucket.

Accessing objects in the bucket

View the following article for instructions on how to access objects within a bucket:

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .