How to launch and manage servers with the DreamCompute dashboard

Launch an instance

  1. Log in to the dashboard.

  2. Select the appropriate project from the drop down menu at the top left.

  3. On the Project tab, open the Compute tab and click Instances category.

    The dashboard shows the instances with its name, its private and floating IP addresses, size, status, task, power state, and so on.

  4. Click Launch Instance.

  5. In the Launch Instance dialog box, specify the following values:

    Details tab

    Availability Zone

    By default, this value is set to the availability zone given by the cloud provider (for example, us-west or apac-south). For some cases, it could be nova.

    Instance Name

    Assign a name to the virtual machine.

    Note

    The name you assign here becomes the initial host name of the server. If the name is longer than 63 characters, the Compute service truncates it automatically to ensure dnsmasq works correctly.

    After the server is built, if you change the server name in the API or change the host name directly, the names are not updated in the dashboard.

    Server names are not guaranteed to be unique when created so you could have two instances with the same host name.

    Flavor

    Specify the size of the instance to launch.

    Instance Count

    To launch multiple instances, enter a value greater than 1. The default is 1.

    Instance Boot Source

    Your options are:

    Boot from image

    If you choose this option, a new field for Image Name displays. You can select the image from the list.

    Boot from snapshot

    If you choose this option, a new field for Instance Snapshot displays. You can select the snapshot from the list.

    Boot from volume

    If you choose this option, a new field for Volume displays. You can select the volume from the list.

    Boot from image (creates a new volume)

    With this option, you can boot from an image and create a volume by entering the Device Size and Device Name for your volume. Click the Delete Volume on Instance Delete option to delete the volume on deleting the instance.

    Boot from volume snapshot (creates a new volume)

    Using this option, you can boot from a volume snapshot and create a new volume by choosing Volume Snapshot from a list and adding a Device Name for your volume. Click the Delete Volume on Instance Delete option to delete the volume on deleting the instance.

    Image Name

    This field changes based on your previous selection. If you have chosen to launch an instance using an image, the Image Name field displays. Select the image name from the dropdown list.

    Instance Snapshot

    This field changes based on your previous selection. If you have chosen to launch an instance using a snapshot, the Instance Snapshot field displays. Select the snapshot name from the dropdown list.

    Volume

    This field changes based on your previous selection. If you have chosen to launch an instance using a volume, the Volume field displays. Select the volume name from the dropdown list. If you want to delete the volume on instance delete, check the Delete Volume on Instance Delete option.

  6. Give your server a name. This will also be the host name of your server.

  7. Choose your preferred operating system.

  8. Add your public SSH key (you only have to do this once).

    Each server you launch is accessible by SSH via key-based authentication. Once you upload your public key, you’ll have the convenience of password-less logins with the default user for your image, Read the article about how to find the default user of your image

    Note

    If you don’t already have an SSH key, you can find out how to create one.

  9. Click the Launch Image button.

Connect To Your Server

Once your new server is created, you can use SSH to log in to it.

Note

Read the article about how to find the default user of your image

Network Ports tab

Ports
Activate the ports that you want to assign to the instance.

Post-Creation tab

Customization Script Source
Specify a customization script that runs after your instance launches.

Advanced Options tab

Disk Partition

Select the type of disk partition from the dropdown list:

Automatic
Entire disk is single partition and automatically resizes.
Manual
Faster build times but requires manual partitioning.
  1. Click Launch.

    The instance starts on a compute node in the cloud.

Note

If you did not provide a key pair, security groups, or rules, users can access the instance only from inside the cloud through VNC. Even pinging the instance is not possible without an ICMP rule configured.

You can also launch an instance from the Images or Volumes category when you launch an instance from an image or a volume respectively.

When you launch an instance from an image, OpenStack creates a local copy of the image on the compute node where the instance starts.

When you launch an instance from a volume, note the following steps:

  • To select the volume from which to launch, launch an instance from an arbitrary image on the volume. The arbitrary image that you select does not boot. Instead, it is replaced by the image on the volume that you choose in the next steps.

    To boot a Xen image from a volume, the image you launch in must be the same type, fully virtualized or paravirtualized, as the one on the volume.

  • Select the volume or volume snapshot from which to boot. Enter a device name. Enter vda for DreamCompute images.

Connect to your instance by using SSH

To use SSH to connect to your instance, use the downloaded keypair file.

  1. Copy the IP address for your instance.

  2. Use the ssh command to make a secure connection to the instance. For example:

    $ ssh -i /path/to/key USER@IP
    
  3. You’ll see a response similar to this:

The authenticity of host '123.123.123.123 (123.123.123.123)' can't be established.
ECDSA key fingerprint is SHA256:B55lL/sLEfJc09dEVFbQhDXkCqQ4taUoBZgzteirnmA.
ssh-rsa AAAAB3NzaC1yc2EAAAADAQABAAABAQDMp8+8id6TRCgznUBMUjwbCUWNz834Cgi5xb1d5xIi
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)?
  1. Type yes and you’ll see a response like this:
Warning: Permanently added '123.123.123.123' (ECDSA) to the list of known hosts.

Additional Configuration

By default, your server is open to all traffic from your other DreamCompute servers and limited traffic from the public network to these ports:

  • SSH
  • HTTP
  • HTTPS
  • ICMP (ping)

Additional ports can be configured from the Security Groups section of the dashboard.

Manage Your Server

The dashboard contains several commands in the Actions menu to manage your server. It’s important to note that only terminating a server will stop usage charges from accruing on a server.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .