Cluster migration procedure

There's been a small change of plans with the new DreamObjects cluster (us-east-1) launch. Please read the following status post for further details:

Beginning on April 10, 2018, DreamHost began to migrate existing DreamObjects accounts to a new and improved cluster. This will help with long term stability of your data.

What will happen to my current data?

Your data will continue to exist and function normally until October 2018, when the old cluster will be shut down.

Due to several technical incompatibilities, it's not possible to automatically migrate your data to the new cluster. The only option is to manually migrate your data. However, please note that you have until October to migrate your data to the new cluster.

What will happen if I'm still using a Legacy CDN name?

DreamObjects CDN names are no longer supported at DreamHost. If you are currently using a 'Legacy' CDN name that is still functional, this will not continue to function when you migrate your data to the new cluster.

Migration tool

You might be familiar with the earlier version of this tool from the article Migrating 3rd party S3 buckets to DreamObjects.

The migration interface has been improved to allow you to select a DreamObjects user as the source for a copy, as well as the destination for a copy. You do not need to specify the Access Key or Secret Key for the source user, as they are copied internally in the migration tool after a source user is selected.

Tool limitations

  • The destination bucket MUST NOT contain any files.
  • Bucket & Object ACLs:
    • Single-owner ACLs are preserved
    • Group ACLs (COMING SOON)
      • This includes public-read/AllUsers, as well as AuthenticatedUsers
    • Complex ACLs (COMING SOON)
      • This is all ACLs that specify multiple different DreamObjects users
  • CORS:
    • COMING SOON
  • Static Website:
    • COMING SOON
  • Server-Side Encryption (SSE)
    • AWS SSE is not officially supported, but is SSE-C available
    • If you use SSE-C, you will NOT be able to use the migration tool because it does not have access to your encryption key

Requirements

  • Two DreamObjects Accounts
    • e.g., one in each of us-west-1 (old) and us-east-1 (new) clusters
  • A source bucket with data
  • A destination bucket name (or an empty bucket)

Migrating a cluster

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > 'Could Services' > 'DreamObjects') page in your DreamHost panel.
  2. Click the 'Migrations' tab.
  3. Click the + Create Migration button.
  4. Click the 'Type' dropdown.
  5. Select one of your DreamObjects accounts. When you do this, the Host, Access Key, and Secret Key fields populate and become uneditable.
  6. Click the Choose Destination & Buckets button.
    A list of your Buckets appears. By default, all of the buckets are highlighted and selected. Click a bucket to un-select it (or click “Select None” to un-select all buckets).
  7. Enter a name for your migration. The name is for your use only.
  8. If you have more than one DreamObjects user, choose which one you'd like to use for the migration. The dropdown separates users by cluster.
  9. Click to select or deselect the buckets you wish to migrate, or use the Select All or Select None buttons.
  10. Click the Start Migration button.
    • If any of the bucket names you have chosen conflict with a bucket name in the destination cluster, the Bucket Conflict page appears before the Migration can start.
    • A bucket conflict means that the name of bucket from the source cluster already exists in the destination cluster, and that the bucket in the destination cluster is not empty (nothing will be overwritten).
    • Once you’ve provided a new name for the bucket in the destination cluster, click the Resolve Conflicts button to continue.
    You return to the Migration tab, and your new migration shows in progress:

When a migration completes, an email confirmation is sent to you and the migration moves to the completed area of the Migration tab.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.