Adding and removing G Suite users

Overview

When you add a user to your G Suite account, you give them an email address at your business domain and an account they can use to access G Suite services.

Adding users

When you originally sign up for a G Suite account, you get to choose how many users to add.

You can also add additional users in your DreamHost panel.

  1. Navigate to the Manage G Suite page in your panel.
    manage g suite
  2. Click the Manage Plan button.
    select g suite users
  3. Select the new amount of users from the dropdown.

    If you need more than 10 users, contact support.

    You will only be able to add as many users as you have selected in the DreamHost panel.

  4. Your plan updates with the new billing plan and how much you owe today.
    update g suite plan
  5. Click the Update Plan button. A success message confirms your plan has been updated. You must now add the user in your G Suite panel.
  6. Navigate to the Users page in your G Suite console.
    add new user
  7. Click the 'Add new user' link.

    You must first add the new user in your DreamHost panel as described above. If you do not, you will see the following warning message in your Google console.

    g suite no license
  8. A pop-up displays, asking for the following information:
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Primary email
    • Organizational unit
    • Secondary email
    • Phone number
  9. Click ADD NEW USER when finished.
  10. A confirmation box displays notifying you that the user has been created.
  11. You now see the new user added to the Users page in your Google Admin console.

User billing

You are billed for the numbers of users selected in the DreamHost panel, not the G Suite console. This means that if you have 5 users in the DreamHost panel, but one in the G Suite console, you are billed for 5 users.

It's important to ensure you do not sign up for more users in your DreamHost panel than you intend to use in G Suite.

If you remove users in the G Suite admin console, you need to also adjust the number of users in the DreamHost panel. If you do not, you will be billed for them.

Deleting user

Step #1 — Remove the user in the G Suite console first

Before deleting a user, make sure you have backed up any necessary data. View the following article for details on what is removed.

  1. Navigate to the Users page in your G Suite panel.
    delete user
  2. Hover over the user you wish to delete. To the right click the 'More' dropdown.
  3. From the dropdown, choose 'Delete user'.
    transfer user data
  4. You then have the option of transferring data to a different user. To locate a different user, start typing the email address of that user into the box at the bottom. Click the user you wish to transfer data to.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. A success message displays, notifying you that your data is transferring to the other user.

Step #2 — Adjust billing in DreamHost panel (if you do not plan to replace user)

  1. Navigate to the Manage G Suite page in your panel.
    manage g suite
  2. Click the Manage Plan button.
    remove users
  3. Select a lower amount of users you wish to downgrade to.
    update g suite plan
  4. Click the Update Plan button. A success message confirms your plan has been updated.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.