Closing your Shared Starter hosting plan

Closing because of COVID-19?

Please contact DreamHost support if you are considering canceling your account due to COVID-19. DreamHost is here to help and may be able to offer you payment deferral and other options during this time.

Overview

The following instructions explain how to close/cancel your Shared Starter hosting plan.

Viewing your hosting plan type

You can view all services billed to your account on the Manage Account page. Here you'll see a list of all services you currently use. If you're on a Shared Starter plan, it displays here.

starter shared plan

Closing/Canceling your Shared Starter account

  1. Navigate to the Manage Account page.
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_01.fw.png
  2. In the top Overview section, click the Close Account button.
    Step 1: Review balance summary

    If you have a balance, you must make a payment for the amount that is due now. You won't be able to proceed to the next step until your account is settled.

    Free registration

    If you have a free registration as part of your hosting plan, you must pay for it when closing your account. View the following article for details.

    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_02.fw.png
  3. If a balance appears, use a payment method at the bottom to make a payment. When finished, click the Proceed to Next Step button.
    Step 2: Review product summary
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_03.fw.png
  4. Review your services and then select which ones you wish to keep (such as domain registrations or any cloud services). When finished, click the Proceed to Next Step button.
    Step 3: Finalize account closure
    2018-09_panel_manage.account_cancel_04.fw.png
  5. On the final page, fill out the exit survey, confirm it, and then click the Close Account Now button to close/cancel your account. After you close the account, a confirmation email is sent to the email address on file.

What happens to my Domain Registration(s) when I close my account?

DreamHost will not delete your domain registrations when you close your account. Any domain registrations previously purchased continue to remain active for the rest of their registration periods.

You can continue to log into your panel and manage your domain registrations as you did before.

Can I re-enable my account after I close it?

Yes. If you ever wish to come back, you can use the steps described in the following article to re-enable your account:

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.

Still not finding what you're looking for?