DreamObjects permissions

DreamObjects allows you to set public and private permissions on Buckets and Objects. These permissions control what information is available when accessing the Bucket or Objects within it.

Bucket permissions

You can view your Bucket's permissions on the (Panel > 'Cloud' > 'DreamObjects') page.

  1. Click your username to expand your Bucket list.
    DreamObjects Permissions
  2. To the right of a Bucket, click the 'Change Settings' link.
    DreamObjects Permissions
  3. In the pop-up you'll see a 'PERMISSIONS' toggle. Click to toggle between public and private permissions for this Bucket.

What does this change?

Bucket permissions control what information is able to be viewed publicly online.

If a Bucket has public permissions, visiting the URL of the bucket will display a list of its contents. For example, this bucket has two images named 'lake-public.jpg' and 'lake-private.jpg'.

DreamObjects Permissions

You can see above the names of the Objects are displayed along with the username of the Bucket.

If the Buckets permissions were set to private, you would not see the contents or username. You would only see this 'Access Denied' message:

DreamObjects Permissions

Object permissions

Object permissions control how an individual Object within a Bucket can be viewed.

You can view your Bucket's permissions on the (Panel > 'Cloud' > 'DreamObjects') page after opening your Bucket.

  1. Click your username to expand your Bucket list.
    DreamObjects Permissions
  2. Click the View Objects button at the bottom. This opens a pop-up box.
  3. Click your Bucket name in the left pane to display a list of your Objects. In this example, the Bucket only has two Objects names 'lake-public.jpg' and 'lake-private.jpg'.
    DreamObjects Permissions
  4. Click on an Object to view its permissions.
    DreamObjects Permissions
  5. You'll see a permissions toggle button. Clicking this changes the URL link to the Object. The example above shows a public URL. If you visit it, you'll see the image.
    DreamObjects Permissions
    The example above shows a private URL. It is a long strand of random characters that is only valid for a temporary time period. You can set this period in the 'Expires' dropdown menu. You'll only be able to view this image if you're using this private URL. 

Can I view my Objects in a private bucket?

Yes. It does not matter if the Bucket's permissions are set to Public or Private, you will always be able to view your Objects when using the Object's correct URL. The correct URL depends on if the Object is set to public or private as shown above.

Public Objects have a simple URL, where private Objects have the longer URL with a unique timestamp.

Does changing a Bucket's permissions in the panel change the permissions of Objects within it?

No. Changing the Bucket's permissions in the panel does not change any of the Object's permissions. They will remain the same.

How can I change the permissions on all Objects at the same time?

This can be done by running a script. This script can be written in several languages, but will always have several values in it that are unique to your particular Bucket. When ran, all permissions will change to either Public or Private.

The following link shows how to do this using a Python script:

Requesting support

If you need assistance with updating your Object permissions, submit a ticket to support. In your ticket, make sure to specify the Bucket name and what Objects within it you'd like permissions changed. Support will then be able to perform the Object permission changes for you.

Changing permissions in a client

You can also change permissions in any DreamObjects client. Here's a link that shows how to do this in Cyberduck.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.