Staying on top of both plugins and core WordPress upgrades is the single best thing you can do to keep your site current and safe: not only will it keep your site less prone to hack attempts, but almost every new version of the software has tweaks that offer speed increases.
All DreamHost WordPress installations at DreamHost have automatic updates enabled by default. This option can be deactivated after WordPress is installed.
Automatic update features
DreamHost automatic updates include the following features:
- DreamHost performs an upgrade to your WordPress site 1–3 weeks following a major version release. If you wish to upgrade manually before then, you can do so by following these steps.
- DreamHost also upgrades any available plugins and themes during this process.
- Once an upgrade completes, you are notified via email.
- If any errors are found during the upgrade process, DreamHost will reverse the upgrade and notify you via email. DreamHost's automatic updates are only available for sites with an active DreamHost WordPress installation of WordPress. If automatic updates are disabled, they cannot be enabled again in the future.
Disabling automatic updates
The following versions include automatic updates by the WordPress application, which are separate from DreamHost's automatic updates:
- WordPress version 3.7 and later — automatic updates for all minor revision updates
- WordPress version 5.6 and later — automatic updates for all major & minor revision updates
Deactivating DreamHost's automatic updates does not change this behavior. DreamHost highly recommends that you allow these updates to automatically occur since they typically include bug fixes and/or security updates.
If needed, you can use a plugin to disable automatic updates.
If you prefer to manually update your WordPress install, you can use the following instructions to opt out of automatic updates by removing your site from the DreamHost WordPress Installs list:
- Navigate to the Install WordPress page.
- The Install WordPress page opens.
- Click the Manage My Apps button.
- Click the domain that’s using the DreamHost WordPress Install to expand it.
- All DreamHost WordPress installs under the domain are displayed.
- Click the Remove from List button on the right side.
- A warning message appears:
- Click Ok to confirm.
- A 'Success' message displays when the site is removed from the DreamHost WordPress Installs list:
After you remove your site, it no longer displays on your Manage My Apps page. DreamHost is unable to automatically update WordPress on this site in the future.
Once automatic updates are disabled, you can manually update your WordPress install using the following article: