DreamObjects billing overview

When you sign up for DreamObjects in the panel, you receive 100GB of storage and outbound bandwidth free for 30 days. Usage exceeding such trial limits will be charged at 'Usage-Based' billing rates.

Usage-Based Billing

Usage-Based Billing means that you’re charged only if you store or download objects. View the following article for further details:

Prepaid plans

Prepaid plans are good if you store a lot of data as they offer bulk discounts over the usage-based billing. View the following article for further details:

How is my monthly data storage calculated?

Your total data usage is monitored regularly and stored in the system as bytes. DreamHost uses the maximum bytes stored during the billing period, converts that to GB and then multiplied by the appropriate rate.

How is my monthly download bandwidth calculated?

Download bandwidth is calculated based on metered data transferred out of DreamObjects. Similar to storage, download bandwidth is stored in bytes. The aggregate number of bytes downloaded is converted to GB and then multiplied by the download rate of 5¢/GB.

There is no charge for uploading data into DreamObjects.

You can check on your usage directly inside the DreamHost Panel on the (Panel > Cloud Services > DreamObjects > Usage Tab) page:

../../_images/02_DHO_usage.fw.png

What happens at the end of DreamObjects free trial?

Once the trial expires, you’re automatically converted to 'Usage-Based' billing unless you specify a prepaid monthly storage plan. This means you’ll only pay if you store or transfer files to and from DreamObjects. If you don’t use DreamObjects, you won’t owe a cent!

You can visualize your storage and bandwidth consumption history on DreamHost Control Panel and make your decisions at the end of the trial period.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .