DreamObjects Users

  • DreamObjects Users are added separately, and are distinct from any other users in the panel.
  • Users can have more than one set of keys so that access can be granted or revoked.
  • Users can also have have multiple buckets.

Creating a User

1. Click the Create New User button on the ‘Manage’ tab of the DreamObjects page.

../../_images/03_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  1. Enter a username in the 'Username' field.

    • Usernames should only contain characters, numbers, dashes, dots, and underscores. Usernames are also unique on the cluster.
  2. Click the Add User button.

Editing a User

You can add Keys and Buckets to User objects, however you cannot change any User properties such as the username.

Deleting a User

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Could Services’ > ‘DreamObjects’) page in your DreamHost panel.

  2. Click the ‘Manage’ tab at the top.

    The DreamObjects page opens where a list of Users displays.

  3. Locate the user you wish to delete

    A ‘Remove User’ link appears on the bottom right of the user object:

../../_images/04_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png
  1. Click the Remove User button.

    A confirmation dialog box opens:

../../_images/05_DHO_End_User_Guide.fw.png

Deleting a User will also permanently remove all data owned by the User. Although DreamHost attempts to preserve the last 5 days-worth of data, there is no guarantee that any data from a deleted user can be recovered.

  1. If you are certain that you wish to permanently delete the user, click Remove on the confirmation dialog box.

    The user is deleted.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated .