When deleting your Dedicated server, you have the option to permanently delete all users and data, or migrate everything to a different server. Make sure you follow the steps below carefully, otherwise you could potentially lose data on your server.
If you want to migrate your data to a different server
This is most often the case when deleting a Dedicated server. This can also be thought of as downgrading your Dedicated server to a different hosting plan.
If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared or VPS hosting plan active. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you are canceling.
If there is no other hosting service in place, the website will go down and your account will only be available for domain registrations.
Make sure to have another hosting plan active if you wish to keep your site up and running.
- Make sure you've already purchased a second hosting plan. This could be a Shared or VPS plan.
- Navigate to the Dashboard page.
- To the right of your server, click the Delete button.
- Click Move everything on ds### to <newserver> and then destroy ds###!. This ensures your data is copied to the new server where you'll continue to host your site.
If you no longer wish to host your site
If you no longer need your website, you can delete the Dedicated server on the Dashboard page. Make sure you've backed up any necessary data first, as it will not be recoverable after you delete the server.