Restart a Managed VPS

Overview

You can reload or restart your Managed VPS from the DreamHost panel. Reloading keeps the server running while it re-reads any configuration file updates, which is safer than restarting.

Should I reload or restart the server?

It's recommended that you first try reloading, as it keeps the server running while re-reading any configuration file updates. This is safer than restarting because if a syntax error is noticed in a config file, it will not proceed with the reload, allowing your server to remain running.

If you restart with a syntax error, your server may potentially not restart correctly.

How do I reload or restart my Managed VPS?

To reload or restart your Managed VPS:

  1. Navigate to the Servers & Usage page.

  2. To the right of your Managed VPS, click the 'vertical 3 dots' button.

  3. Select either Reload HTTP or Restart Server.

If you selected Restart Server, please allow a few moments for the server to restart. During this process, your websites may experience brief downtime.

See also

Still not finding what you're looking for?