When deleting your VPS, you can permanently delete all users and data or migrate everything to a different server. Ensure you follow the steps below carefully; otherwise, you could potentially lose data on your server.
If you want to migrate your data to a different server
This is most often the case when deleting a VPS. This can also be considered migrating your VPS data to a different hosting plan.
If you wish to keep your website active and migrate it to a different hosting plan, you must already have a Shared, Dedicated, or another VPS Hosting plan active. Only then will you have the opportunity to migrate the data to this new server when you cancel.
If no other hosting service is in place, the website will go down, and your account will only be available for domain registrations.
Ensure another hosting plan is active if you wish to keep your site up and running.
- Navigate to the VPS page.
You may not see the Delete button if your VPS RAM usage is too high. The usage needs to be lowered before you can delete a VPS. View the following article for more information on reducing VPS RAM memory usage:
- Click the Delete button to the right of the VPS under the Actions column.
- Click Move everything on ps### to <newserver> and then destroy ps###!. This ensures your data is copied to the new server, where you'll continue to host your site.
When finished, DreamHost emails the account owner to confirm the VPS has been deleted.
If you no longer wish to host sites on your VPS
If you have a MySQL VPS with 3GB or more of data and no Dedicated server, you cannot use the Delete button in the panel to delete your VPS. You must first decrease the size to less than 3GB for each MySQL VPS database to delete the VPS in the panel.
If you no longer need your server to host your websites, you can delete the VPS on the VPS page. Ensure you've backed up any necessary data first, as it will not be recoverable after deleting the server.