This article describes the various ways you can upgrade or downgrade from a VPS hosting plan.
Downgrading to Shared Starter
If you would like to downgrade from a VPS plan to a Shared Starter hosting plan, make sure you fall within the limitations described in the following article:
If you would like to proceed, contact support to request this.
Downgrading to Shared
First, make sure you've added a Shared Hosting plan.
You can then delete the VPS.
When deleting, you will see a message informing you that everything on the VPS will be moved to the shared server.
If you have both a shared and dedicated server on your account, only the dedicated server will show as an option to move to when deleting your VPS.
If you would prefer to move to a shared server, contact support. DreamHost support will then move the data for you.
Upgrading to a Dedicated Server
If you'd like to move all of the content on your VPS to a Dedicated Server, you must first purchase the Dedicated Server as shown in the following article:
During that process, select your VPS in the dropdown to move all data. Once everything has been moved, you can then delete your VPS:
Upgrading to DreamPress
View the following article for instructions on how to upgrade an existing WordPress site to DreamPress:
If you only had the single WordPress site on your VPS, you can then cancel it.
If you have other sites on the VPS, you must continue paying for that plan since only the single site would have been moved to DreamPress.
Moving to a different VPS plan
View the following article for instructions on how to change your VPS hosting plan.