Editing or deleting custom DNS records

If you find yourself in a situation that requires changes to your site, and your developer isn't available to help, DreamHost's skilled support team may be able to assist you for a small fee. You can find more information about supported services and associated costs in the DreamHost Professional Services article.

Overview

This article explains how to edit or delete a custom record you have already created by following the instructions in this article:

If you're instead attempting to remove Non-Editable (non-custom) DNS records, review the following article instead:

Editing a custom DNS record

  1. Navigate to the Websites page.
  2. Open the Manage page for your site.
    • If you're in Grid view, hover over your website and click the Manage button.
    • If you're in List view, click the Manage button to the right of your website.
    DNS tab
  3. Click the DNS tab. A list of your DNS records displays.
    custom dns record
  4. Click the pencil pencil icon.png icon to the right of the record. This opens the record for you to edit.
  5. Click Save.

Deleting a custom DNS record

  1. Navigate to the Websites page.
  2. Open the Manage page for your site.
    • If you're in Grid view, hover over your website and click the Manage button.
    • If you're in List view, click the Manage button to the right of your website.
    DNS tab
  3. Click the DNS tab. A list of your DNS records displays.
    delete custom dns button
  4. Click the Delete Record button beneath the record fields.
    remove dns button
  5. A message appears asking you to confirm the deletion of this record. Click the Remove button.
  6. A confirmation message confirms its deletion.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.

Still not finding what you're looking for?