Adding and deleting a database user

Overview

When you create a database in the DreamHost panel, a single username is created which you can use to log into the database.

If you need to give someone else access to your database (such as a developer), you can create a new user in the panel.

Make sure you then delete the user when they no longer require access to the database.

Only give access to the database to someone you trust!

Adding a new database user

Database user names must be unique across all DreamHost accounts. You must choose a different name if the new user's name is already in use at DreamHost.

  1. Navigate to the MySQL Databases page.
  2. To the right of your database, click the Add a user button.
  3. On the next page, chose Create a new user now... from the dropdown menu.
  4. Enter a new username and password.
  5. Click Add new user now!.
This new user now has access to the database.

Deleting a database user

  1. Navigate to the MySQL Databases page.
  2. To the right of the database, under the User Access column, click the username.
    The next page displays the databases the user has access to.
  3. Click the Delete button to the right of the database to remove this user's access.
The user will no longer have access to this database.

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.

Still not finding what you're looking for?