Dedicated server overview

Overview

A Dedicated server is a server that is completely dedicated to your data alone. This means no other DreamHost customers have any access or share any resources with your sites on that server.

DreamHost offers several types of hosting plans. You can see details of each along with a comparison on the Hosting article. With all other types of hosting, your data is on a machine with other users.

Dedicated servers are premium machines best for high-performance websites that require dedicated resources to run them efficiently. For further information, please view the Dedicated Hosting page on the main website.

Pricing

View the following page for current Dedicated server pricing.

Checking usage

View the following article for information on how to check usage on your Dedicated server:

How to re-image your server

There is a $100 fee to have your Dedicated server re-imaged. If you'd like to proceed with this, contact technical support via email.

Admin Users

Dedicated servers offer the ability to add an admin user. This admin user is given full root access to the Dedicated server via the sudo command. These are special users with full access to the server.

Be careful when you’re using an admin user as you will have the ability to disrupt system settings which could disable your sites or server. Make sure you know what you’re doing when using an admin user.

See also

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.

Still not finding what you're looking for?