Do NOT use these steps if you simply wish to deactivate WordPress automatic updates, as these instructions will delete your content. See the following article if you wish to instead disable automatic updates for your WordPress site:
This article explains how to delete WordPress installed via the DreamHost WordPress installer in the panel.
What is deleted from the server?
When you delete a DreamHost WordPress install, several files could be deleted depending on where the install is located. Make sure to read through the examples below before removing your DreamHost WordPress install.
If your install is in the primary web directory
The primary web directory of your site is the directory the server looks for to serve files. View the 'How to add a domain' article. Step #4 shows where the web directory is located. You can also visit the Install WordPress page.
Click Manage my Apps.
Next, click your website name. It will show a forward slash next to the DreamHost WordPress install icon.
When clicked, the Remove from List button deactivates a DreamHost WordPress install and removes it from the list. It does NOT delete any files.
In general, this directory is the name of your website. For example, if your site is named example.com, your web directory would be /home/username/example.com also. This means that when you visit your site at example.com, you're seeing the DreamHost WordPress install.
If this is where you've installed your DreamHost WordPress install, be very careful when deleting it in the panel. If you delete the DreamHost WordPress install stored in your primary web directory, ALL FILES in the web directory and all sub-directories are deleted. This means that if you have any subdirectories like example.com/images or example.com/blog, those are also deleted.
Make sure to only use this option if you want everything deleted from your website and server including all other files under this web directory. If you need any of those files or sub-directories, make sure to back them up before removing the DreamHost WordPress install.
If your install is in a sub-directory
If your install is in a sub-directory such as example.com/blog, only the files within that sub-directory are deleted.
When clicked, the Remove from List button deactivates a WordPress DreamHost WordPress install and removes it from the list. It does NOT delete any files.
For example, if your site was example.com/blog, only files within that /blog sub-directory are deleted. However, the empty /blog directory will remain. No files are touched above this directory, so anything within the /example.com directory remains.
Removing a DreamHost WordPress install application
- Navigate to the Install WordPress page.
- The Install WordPress page opens:
- Click the Manage Installed Applications button.
- Click the domain that’s using the DreamHost WordPress install to expand it.
- All DreamHost WordPress installs under the domain are displayed.
- Click the Delete all Files button on the right side.
- A warning message appears after you click Delete all Files:
- Click Ok to confirm and wait for the uninstall to finish. A 'Success' message displays when the application is deleted:
- After you uninstall the application, it no longer displays on your Manage Application page.
- If it still appears in the list, click the Remove from List button.
How to delete the database
When you click Delete all Files, only the files on the web server are deleted. Your WordPress database remains in your panel. To delete your database, navigate to the MySQL Databases. To the right of your database, click the Delete DB button.
What if the Delete button does not display?
If you find the Delete button does not display in your panel next to your DreamHost WordPress install, contact support for further assistance.