Copying your DreamPress site to Staging to test changes

Overview

This article describes how to copy your primary DreamPress site to a staging website. The staging site allows you to test changes you plan on making on your live site while your live site remains up and running normally.

When you're finished working on your staging site and have it configured the way you like, you can then publish those changes back into your live website.

Notes about copying your DreamPress site to staging

If your site has been previously hacked and then used DreamHost's DreamShield service, you must clean up the files that were hacked/disabled before you are able to enable staging on your site.

  • DreamPress Staging uses Git to copy files. If you have your own active Git repository in one of your live site's folders, the folder's contents will not be copied to your staging site. To use staging successfully, you can manually copy the contents of the folder using SFTP or SSH. DreamPress recommends as a best practice to manage your Git repository in a separate development environment instead of your live site.
  • When you enable staging for the first time, your DreamPress plan must have at least 5 GB of free space.
  • The Uploads folder is not copied to your staging site, in order to use disk space efficiently. Replacing an existing image in your Media Library will modify it for the live site.

Copying your live site to the staging site

The following steps show you how to copy your live DreamPress website to your staging website. You can then test and work on the staging site without affecting the live site.

  1. Navigate to the Managed WordPress page.
    2018-10_panel_dreampress_add_08.fw.png
  2. Click the Manage button to the right of your primary domain.
    The Manage DreamPress page opens:
    2019-06_panel_dreampress_staging_01.fw.png
  3. Click the 'Staging' tab.
    The Manage Staging dashboard page opens prompting you to create a staging site:
    2019-06_panel_dreampress_staging_02.fw.png
  4. Click the Create Staging Site button.

    A staging site is automatically created with a new name. Please note that it's not possible to give your staging site a custom name.

    A progress meter shows the status:
    2019-06_panel_dreampress_staging_05.fw.png

Once your website is finished copying to your staging site, an email confirmation is sent to you.

Managing your Staging website

The staging environment is not included in the DreamPress domain’s daily backups. You are responsible for maintaining your own backups of any content you add in the staging environment.

After your staging website is created, the following page appears in your Manage Staging dashboard:

2019-06_panel_dreampress_staging_03.fw.png

Your Staging Website domain name appears at the top. This example shows "exampledreamhostcom.stage.site".

  • Access Your Staging Website — Shows the Username and Password you use to access your login-protected website.
  • Staging WordPress Admin — Opens the WP-Admin page where you can make edits to your staging website.
  • File Upload — Shows the FTP credentials for your staging website so you can transfer files through DreamHost's WebFTP or your third-party FTP client.
  • Database (MySQL) — Shows your database (MySQL) credentials so you can manage your databases using phpMyAdmin.

Logging into your Staging site

If you previously updated your DreamPress admin password, you can use the same username and password from your live site to log into your staging site.

If you did not manually change your password, you can log into your Staging WordPress site from your DreamPress panel. Click the Managing Staging WordPress button to automatically log you into the admin dashboard.

Publishing your changes

When you're ready, you can use the One-Click feature on the Staging dashboard page to publish changes to your live website. See the following article for more information:

Did this article answer your questions?

Article last updated PST.